Tuesday, December 5, 2006

Apparently it takes a genius

to run a gas station. The convenience store, anyway. At the Esso - On the Run c-store up the street, I am always amazed at the poor service. The other night, the cashiers were changing over, and the one who was leaving counted her drawer at the register. While no other register was open, while a line was growing and growing. First rule. Never count your cash in front of customers. It's not safe. It would have been easy to grab the cash from the counter and run. Lucky for me, I'm not a thief. It's also rude. Rule 2. The manager should know his job. He stood right there and did nothing. To me, the customer, it looked like 3 people just standing around with their thumbs up their asses. It should be possible to make a seamless transition. Excuse yourself to the next customer, print your report, pull your drawer, new person in, drop the drawer, punch in, greet the customer. 15 seconds, max. I stood in line about 5 minutes last night.
There is obviously no training there. One night I watched the manager and 3 others try to figure out how to use the money-order printer. No one was manning the register and there were 30 people in the store, most of them hungry after the VĂ¥lerenga match. They all spent 5 minutes looking at a blank postgiro and trying to put it into the machine, and none of them acknowledged anyone. No apologies to anyone for making us wait. It didn't just happen once, I've seen this problem other times, actually.

I understand it is hard to get c-store employees to care a whole lot, since they make crap for money, but..... wait, this is Norway, they get paid excellent for a c-store jockey. That's right, it's Norway, no history or understanding of service...

No comments: